Misdemeanors and Felonies

criminal defense attorney in virginia

 

In Virginia, crimes are classified as either misdemeanors or felonies. Virginia Code sections 18.2-9 through § 18.2-11 govern the classifications for both felony and misdemeanor offenses.

 

Misdemeanor offenses are classified into four classes, each with a different range of punishments

 

  • Class 1 Misdemeanors are punishable for up to one year in jail and a fine up to $2,500.
  • Class 2 Misdemeanors are punishable for up to six months in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
  • Class 3 and 4 Misdemeanors are punishable with fines of up to $500 and $250, respectively.

 

Felony offenses are classified into six classes, with class 1 being the most serious.

 

  • Class 1 Felonies are punishable by death or life in prison.
  • Class 2 Felonies are punishable for a period of incarceration ranging from 20 years to life.
  • Class 3 Felonies are punishable for a period of incarceration ranging from 5 years to 20 years.
  • Class 4 Felonies are punishable for a period of incarceration ranging from 2 years to 10 years.
  • Class 5 Felonies are punishable for a period of incarceration ranging from 1 years to 10 years.
  • Class 6 Felonies are punishable for a period of incarceration ranging from 1 to 5 years.